SB 1276 Hits the Senate

This is it! The chance we’ve been waiting for is finally here. The Senate Education Committee will consider the bill containing the partial fee waiver for which we’ve been fighting for years. It is essential that we make a strong show of support for this important piece of legislation.

At a minimum, we urge you to call the Senators listed in this post and tell them of your STRONG support for SB 1276. What will make an even bigger difference, though, is if we can PACK the room with supporters. Last year, we brought over 100 GAs to a single meeting. We can beat that number!

If you are able to attend, we encourage you to fill out a speaker card. Indicate that you are there for SB 1276, that you are representing yourself, and that you are in favor of the bill. When your name is called, you can simply say that you “waive in support,” meaning you’re giving up your time to speak, but your support for the bill will be recorded.

If you have questions, email our Political Action chair.

Check this map to find the Knott Building at the Florida Capitol.

SB 1276, sponsored by Senator Stargel, is officially titled the “Postsecondary Educational Institution Affordability” bill. In addition to waiving 25% of all student fees for Florida GAs on at least a 0.25 FTE, it also freezes student fees for all college and university students.

You can read the full text here.

Mayfield, Debbie (R)
Vice Chair
District #: (321)409-2025
Tallahassee: (850) 487-5017
Mayfield.debbie@flsenate.gov
Galvano, Bill (R) District #: (941) 741-3401
Tallahassee: (850) 487-5021
Galvano.bill@flsenate.gov
Lee, Tom (R) District #: (813) 653-7061
Tallahassee: (850) 487-5020
Lee.tom@flsenate.gov
Simmons, David (R) District #: (407) 262-7578
Tallahassee: (850) 487-5009
Simmons.david@flsenate.gov
Simpson, Wilton (R) District #: (352)540-6074
Tallahassee: (850) 487-5010
Simpson.wilton@flsenate.gov
Farmer, Gary (D) District #: (954) 467-4227
Tallahassee: (850) 487-5034
Farmer.gary@flsenate.gov
Stewart, Linda (D) District #: (407) 893-2422
Tallahassee: (850) 487-5013
Stewart.linda@flsenate.gov
Thurston, Perry (D) District #: (954) 321-2705
Tallahassee: (850) 487-5033
Thurston.perry@flsenate.gov
Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed